Home » Life In General » Randoms

Randoms

  • I may be the only black person in America who didn’t watch the interview with the Houston family last night. I don’t need to watch an interview to know how anyone feels about the loss of a loved one. I heard it was good though.
  • But I did watch the foolishness that is RHOA. Cynthia’s mom and sister are horrible, horrible people. I understand being concerned about your daughter/sister’s choice of a husband (really, I do) but at the end of the day Cynthia is a grown woman who is happy with the choice she’s made. Move along.
  • And why doesn’t Marlo have enough sense not to even bother lying about something she said  and that was captured on tape??  Come on lady – you used the word that “starts with f and rhymes with maggot” quit fronting like you didn’t.
  • Spent Sunday afternoon at a birthday party at Chuck E Cheese. As much as I loathe that place, it is always, always good for entertainment. From the women looking like they just left the club to the dudes there trying to find dates and everyone in between it really is quite hilarious.
  • This week is Spring Break and one of the few times a year that I wish I was a stay-at-home or work-at-home mother. I really feel bad that my kiddo still has to get up at the crack of dawn so she can go to daycare. I can’t think of the last time she’s just slept in that she wasn’t sick. I think I’m taking Friday off so she can just chill.
  • Smoochy took LG and my nieces to see The Lorax this weekend. Of course the girls came over and played for a few hours. I told one niece that she’d had enough juice, to drink water. She told me she didn’t drink tap water. Reason #45567 that I only mess with certain kids on a regular basis.
  • I’m tired. In a few weeks I will appreciate the extra daylight that Daylight Saving Time brings. But right now? Not so much. I miss that extra hour.
  • I’ve decided this is the week that whatever doesn’t fit in LG’s 7 or 8 toy boxes/ottomans is going to be thrown and/or given away. The amount of stuff that child has and that is strewn all over the house is embarrassing. We’re going to work on it a little each night until we come up with something that both of us can deal with. And by both of us, I totally mean me.
  • I can’t remember if I’d ever mentioned that I was using and loving the My Fitness Pal app? Anyhoo, I thought I’d been tracking myself long enough and could use what I’d learned about my eating habits and give up the app. Not so much. I need to see what I’ve been consuming to stay on track. Back to the app I go.
  • Anybody ever used the oil cleansing method on their face? My skin is very acne-prone and the only thing that clears it up totally is birth control pills or pregnancy. Neither of which interest me…so I’m giving this OCM a try and am hoping it’ll help balance out my skin. I’m using a mix of castor and jojoba oils. If some minor miracle occurs, I’ll let you know!
  • I guess that’s it. Life’s been on a pretty even keel and though more drama would make for more interesting blog fodder, I’ll still with the calmness. 🙂

Have a great week!

13 thoughts on “Randoms

  1. I didnt watch the interview either. I had no interest.

    I havent been to CeC in a while but I do remember a similar scene wehn I did go as far as the way the women were dressed. I just think they dress like that all the time.

    We did a toy purge last year. If it didnt fit in this one large tub it had to go. It was one of the pbest things we have ever done. With that much stuff you cant help but have a mess around.

  2. I wouldn’t use castor oil as it’s a VERY HEAVY oil and if you’re really sensitive to it (like I am) then just applying it topically can make you have to “go” like you’ve taken it orally. I’ve used it before on my scalp and it’s good for thin spots in your hairline. The jojoba is a good choice as it’s closest to your natural sebum. If you’re acne prone I’d reccomend also adding some pure tea trea oil, but just a bit b/c it’s powerfull, maybe 5-10%. I’d mix the jojoba w/ olive oil or sunflower oil (very light). I hope it works for you!

  3. I watched the Houston interview and was totally skeeved out by it. Too intrusive and far too soon. I wish they woulda kept their mouths shut about it all.

    I did thoroughly enjoy the ESPN doc The Announcement about the day Magic announced he was HIV positive.

    I have to be at Chuck E. Cheese’s on the 1st. In Los Angeles. I’m sure I’ll be highly entertained.

    I have considered the oil cleansing method. My skin went completely haywire in my late twenties and nothing helps. I’m on BC pills, an oral antibiotic, have a topical antibiotic and a retinol cream. No luck so far. Let me know how it goes for you.

  4. I didn’t watch last night but I did record it. I’ll take a looksie one day this week.

    I haven’t watched the entire episode yet but did manage to catch Mallory’s display of foolishness. What a mess. I agree with Cynthia. She should have just stayed at home…or gotten her a drink and sat down somewhere.

    Marlo’s an idiot.

  5. I agree w/Cynthia’s mom and sister. They act like THEY are married to Peter. Sheesh.

    Cant wait to see how your skin cleaning goes! I won’t take either of those options either lol

  6. I just started cleaning my face with the OCM over the weekend. I’m using a mixture of castor oil and jojoba (about 25/75 percent mix) too. Everything I read said that it should be adjusted as necessary and I think that may be a little too much castor oil for my skin because it was a little dry.

    I also read that jojoba can be a little comedogenic and that if you have large pores or are prone to acne, it might not be a good oil to use. I haven’t had problems so far but I’m keeping an eye on it. If I have a problem, I’ll probably switch to olive oil which I’ve heard is good to use.

  7. I watched the Houston family interview and it was just way too soon. They are altogether too raw emotionally. Her brother in the end – I just broke down crying with him. I hope after this that they will take the time to heal and grieve (no more interviews for a while) and the media will respect their grieving period and leave them alone too.

    Cynthia is a good one that is all I can say about that mess. Her sis and mom needs therapy – seriously. About that other woman Marlo – too foolish. Sheree though, that one there takes the cake plus half. Sure would not trust her at. all.

  8. i started washing my face with raw honey and water – love it. (it has to be raw, it smells like feet) i got one of those facial brushes on sale – that with the honey wash is a godsend.
    Cynthia’s sister is an idiot; so is Marlo and Kim is lazy. Sheree is a fraud trying to ensure that she has a job next season.

  9. I watched the interview. I’m now sure that most people don’t understand addiction. Drug addicts, former/recovering/sober, should NOT and can NOT drink. It’s just a replacement addiction. I’m still sad.

    The Chuckie Cheeses in Md, are hoodlum hangouts. And I’m talking about the Moms. They will throw down in a minute over something a kid did. LOL

    I use the Calorie Counter app for Droid. Love this app, I am so pumped about it. it has a barcode scanner. Just scan the barcode and get all the caloric information loaded into my daily plan. wooohoo

    I don’t know about using oil on oily skin. Let me know how it works for you.

  10. I ❤ MFP! I used it and lost about 15 lbs, and have been using it almost consistently for over a year. It's great!

    I tried the oil cleanse thingy (with jojoba, sweet almond, and I think castor oil). No difference for me, but I hope it works well for you. 🙂

  11. I didn’t watch the interview or the funeral. I just didn’t want too.Chuck E Cheese is straight hood! The mess that goes on there. SMH.

  12. I watched the interview. It appeared that the family really wanted to clear some things up about Whitney’s life and death that had been lied about in the media. I think it was good timing because in a month, who’s really gonna care? Anyway, I just don’t get why people are judging when it’s appropriate for this family to speak on the death of THEIR loved one. Who are we to say when they should do anything they please?

    And Mallory woulda BEEN kicked in the throat if she kept coming at me like that about my husband.

  13. I DVR’ed the interview, but I haven’t had a chance to watch it yet.
    I haven’t watched any of RHOA this season, but I may catch up with On Demand in a few weeks.
    I’m looking forward to the spring break that my son has from school because like you, I think he should be able to sleep in occasionally too. I’m taking 2 days off.
    A kid that won’t drink tap water? Hmph.

Leave a Reply

