Home » Life In General » Do Not Let Your Hearts Be Troubled and Do Not Be Afraid

Do Not Let Your Hearts Be Troubled and Do Not Be Afraid

My heart? Is troubled.

I am usually able to bounce (or walk) through life without too many things bothering me on a regular basis.  Not to imply that my life is perfect or anything close to it, but one of the lessons I have learned from my mother (and try to apply) is “don’t worry about it.”  Or, as Smoochy likes to say “if you’re going to pray, don’t worry. If you’re going to worry, don’t pray.”

But I tell you what. My spirit is just restless.

From the senseless murder of Trayvon Martin to the war being waged on women in the political arena to the hatred spewed by people all over the world – particularly here in these great United States, my heart just hurts.

I pray for Smoochy’s safety every day.  I pray for the safety of my father and my brothers. To know that they are “suspicious looking” just by virtue of the color of their skin and could be shot down in cold blood makes me want to cry. This is 2012. Why are we fighting the same battles that we were fighting 200 years ago?  Why are we the only people who as a group have to prove that we are “safe.” That we are “friendly?”  (Did I ever tell y’all that the lady who fired me 5 years told me I didn’t look friendly and that perhaps I should wear kinder colors like pink?  O_o.)  It is 2012 and there are governors who are comfortable saying they felt “threatened” by the President of the United States of America. Lord have mercy.

I remember a road trip Smoochy and I took from AR to MS one school break. We got pulled over in some speed trap little city.  Smoochy jumped out the car, got his wallet out his back pocket and stood there waiting for the policeman to approach the car.  Me?  I was in the car screaming and yelling “get in the car! Get in the car! Oh God, you’re going to get shot! Smoochy, please get back in the car!”  Well, he didn’t get shot. But I’d seen enough news stories and read enough newspapers to know that black men get shot for less almost daily in this country.  In Mississippi – at least at that time – I guess it was not out of the ordinary to exit your car when pulled over by the law.  In California, black men were being shot in their driveway, by police, for less. Thankfully, Smoochy doesn’t jump out the car when he gets pulled over anymore, but that doesn’t stop me from worrying as he travels the roads of this country.  And those that lead to our home.

I was going to write a bit about the anti-woman sentiment that seems to have been taken up by a number of legislators.  But I don’t feel like it right now.

This ish sucks.

 

6 thoughts on “Do Not Let Your Hearts Be Troubled and Do Not Be Afraid

  1. It’s hard to admit that the more things change, the more they stay the same. I have to pray extra hard for my sons right now because being young and black in the south seems to put an extra bullseye on their chest. Have a great day NG.

  2. It has nothing to do with being in the South. Some of the most well-known cases were in NY & California. Injustice is everywhere. I am praying for all of the mothers today. Of the victims and the killers. You never want today to be the day your child becomes a poster child for injustice. On either side. And the war on women is real. Very very real. We must speak up and we shall. You are doing your part. ((hug))

  3. Injustice really is everywhere, even against the cops. My husband is a police officer and him being black scares the be-jeezus out of me sometimes. He’s been gunfaced by people he’s pulled over for speeding, damn near been killed by a 20 lb flower pot intentionally dropped from 4 stories above his head…all because he’s black. No one hears about those stories on the news though. He says “ni..ger” is tossed at him so often that it no longer fazes him. It’s real in the streets for black men (women and children too), no matter what side of the badge they’re on.

  4. I truly understand your concerns. I lived with 4 of the 5 you reference.

    Race has always been an issue in the United States. Race matters will not be resolved any time soon for political, economic, religious, historical and familial reasons. Our responsibility to our men and women, young and old is to stay mindful of the potential for violence, harm and even death without provocation at any time. we are not usually the instigators of negative actions against others. We are usually the recipients of inexplicable violence. Our challenge is to stay alive to fight the battle with our eyes on equality and justice for all at all times.

    Stay prayerful and stayed informed.

  5. My heart is troubled and I’m frustrated at this process. I listened to all the 911 calls and I’m just shattered right now that young man screaming help and no one coming to his aid is devastating. *real tears* Racism is so real and it sickens me that even in 2012 we as a people have to constantly stay vigilant. With Trayvon’s case I can’t understand after all that has been said, done, shown and exposed that Zimmerman is STILL not in jail and can STILL carry his gun!

Leave a Reply

