Home » Life In General » Determined to Write Something

Determined to Write Something

  • I had an oatmeal pie for breakfast this morning. I’m pretty sure this has a lot to do with the fact that my thighs are staging their own third world coup.
  • LG and I are going camping with the Girl Scouts. We leave Friday night and will be back late Saturday afternoon. We’re both pretty excited. We should probably get out more…
  • Smoochy and I will celebrate 13 years of marriage in a few weeks. I haven’t the foggiest idea what to buy him. I’m going to suggest we just go to dinner and call it a day. It never works, but I always suggest it.
  • I just ate a bunch of carrots. I’m thinking they’ll erase the damage done by the oatmeal pie.
  • I understand that folks think other folks shouldn’t say anything to them about how they raise their children. I disagree. While I don’t want, need, or take advice from just anybody, I am glad that I have people in my life who can and will provide pointers on raising LG. Whether they’re sharing successes or parenting fails, there’s usually a nugget of wisdom in there somewhere. I feel sorry for people who think they know everything. They don’t.
  • LG pointed at her chest the other day and told me her breasts were growing and that she doesn’t want them. I wanted to tell her “no worries – with your family history, they’re not going to get much bigger and when you’re about 15 you’ll be plenty pissed about it.” But I didn’t.
  • Did you know today is a national day of prayer? It is. Go ahead – say a little prayer. “Thank You” counts.
  • Is there a particular song that always gets you on the dance floor? I’m making a playlist for this imaginary party I’m throwing one day. Need suggestions.
  • Did I tell y’all that LG was “Little Pig #1” in the 1st grade production “A Three Piggy Opera?” Well, she was. And yes I’m biased, but I’ve got to say – she was awesome!!  The whole little musical was quite cute and the kids did a really good job. And this from someone who um, doesn’t like kiddie productions.
  • What’s going on with y’all?

This is her in her house of straw. She’s getting ready to sing her part. This picture blows. As do all the pictures I took. Thankfully the school sells DVDs of the performance. There’s a sucker born every minute ’cause I surely bought one!

She was pretty pleased with her performance. Not sure what this pose is all about though.

8 thoughts on “Determined to Write Something

  1. Those DVDs are worth every penny! My sister and I have watched her 1st grade play at least 30 times in the last 20+ years! Less than $.50 per viewing! ROTFL @ your breast message! My poor children will have to hear the same! Carrots probably do balance out that pie.

  2. i think you’re beating yourself up too much about not writing; i think you’ll write again when you have something to write. in the mean time – just go with it. i miss you and all, but don’t write because i miss you, write because you have something to say. now i’m not saying i didn’t enjoy this post – so dont take my comment out of context.
    today is the national day of prayer – and i’m praying my way through the day. taking some extra time to pray for my grown children, my troubled sister, my church and blogfriends.

  3. I don’t know that I have a particular song that makes me want to dance, it’s more like a huge list, but a favorite is Temperature by Sean Paul.

    Kids never cease to amaze me with the things they say… and I love the mini-monologues you share from LG.

  4. Anything old school makes me wanna dance, but specifically Marvin Gaye, “Got to Give it Up”, Alicia Myers, “I Want to Thank You”, and Carl Carlton, “She’s a Bad Mamma Jamma” do it every time.

    Enjoy that camping trip! Reminds me of my days in the Brownies. Whew, the stories I could tell!! LOL! Thanks for the blog ideas. =)

    And yes, I firmly agree that the carrots will completely counteract the oatmeal pie. Orange is better than brown, ya know?

    Parenting advice is hit or miss for me. I know for certain that I’m a newbie and can’t possibly know everything. But when the person in question has physical evidence showing they are FAILING at parenting? Nah, man, I don’t want to hear a damn thing they’ve got to say. Reasonable, sane folks raising good kids? Bring it on, I’m all ears.

Leave a Reply

