Home » Life In General » They see me rolling, they hatin’

They see me rolling, they hatin’

…okay, so that’s pretty much a lie.  No one is hating on me for my ride – a 10 year old Dodge Durango.  But they do see me rolling.  At least when my car is working.

I’ve mentioned on here and on the Twitter that my car?  Is tripping.  Every few weeks the joker just runs hot and shuts down on your girl.  We’ve replaced hoses, the water pump, the thermostat and as of this past week, the radiator.

Yesterday I’m rolling on in to work and I notice that my temperature gauge is steadily inching toward “hot as hell.”  Well, okay, it’s really moving toward “H,” but I figured I’d be dramatic for story’s sake.  Anyhoo, by the time I pull into the parking lot, there is steam pouring out from under the hood of the car.  I throw that joker in park, snap a picture and start making my way toward the building.  Some genius felt it necessary to run up, tap me on my shoulder and tell me my car was smoking.  Thank you Captain Obvious.  So I call Smoochy and tell him the ride is tripping again.  He gets frustrated because he’s out of town and can’t figure out what else to do.  He calls his cousin who comes and picks it up.  And buys a new radiator cap for it.  Problem solved.  Cousin drives it around all day to make sure all is well (for now anyhow) and brings it back at the end of my work day.  So, a $7 radiator cap and a 1/2 tank of gas later I’m back rolling.

Of course while I’m waiting on news about my car I’m trying to figure out what’s next.  New car?  Costly repair?  What’s a Nerd Girl to do?  So I start looking around on the internets and call a few car dealerships.  I told them I was looking for:  a late model car 2008/2009 no more than 45, maybe 55K miles, four doors, not white.  And I wanted a note around $250.  Everybody laughed at me.  Told me it couldn’t me done.  A lie.  Those were the same specs I had when I bought my last car – the Durango – in 2004.  Guess what…yeah, I got what I wanted then and I have no doubt I’ll get what I want when I decide to make that plunge again.  Right now, the repairs to the car haven’t been all that costly, and while having to call for assistance is a pain in my hindquarters, neither of these justify (in my mind) a new ride just yet.

This brings me to the Q&A portion of this entry…what are you driving?  Did you buy it new or used?  Are you happy with it?  What do you have your sights set on for your next ride?  Are there any features you absolutely must have in a car?

And just in case you, like Smoochy, require pictorial evidence of a smoking car?  Here ya go:

 

 

16 thoughts on “They see me rolling, they hatin’

  1. I know it’s probably hot as Hades there but if you notice your car getting hot again, roll down the windows and turn the heat on low. It will draw the heat away from the engine.

    After renting a few cars with Sync, etc., I definitely want a car that will allow me to easily listen to music from an iPod or phone through the radio. My 2004 car doesn’t have that feature. Also, I never want to live without heated seats again.

    • This is true. I had a 2000 Chevy Impala for 11 years and finally gave up on it when my gaskets were ruined. I’ve done everything you did. You may have a problem with your radiator or your gaskets. I’m hoping the radiator cap is all that’s needed. Replacing the gaskets is almost equivalent to a down payment on a new car.

      After I traded my non-working car in for $500, I financed a 2010 Hyundai Sonata. I want my next car to be either a Hyundai Genesis, a Buick Regal or Lacrosse, or a Maxima. I hate my expensive taste. -_-

      Only feature I “need” is an aux port/usb port.

  2. 250 is impossible? They are being ridiculous. I just paid 11k, CASH, for a fully loaded 2006 Nissan Murano. You just gotta know how to shop. It’s a buyer’s market. Start on autotrader.com or cars.com (preferably autotrader), set you mileage, and see what you got. As far as financing, Cap.ital. O.ne offers Blank Check financing. You apply, get approved for a certain amount, they mail you a blank check for up to your approved amount, and you walk into the dealership with the power of someone who’s paying cash. These car dealers anger me, how they try and get over on folks. Email me if you have any questions, or need help. I got u.

  3. This is true. I had a 2000 Chevy Impala for 11 years and finally gave up on it when my gaskets were ruined. I’ve done everything you did. You may have a problem with your radiator or your gaskets. I’m hoping the radiator cap is all that’s needed. Replacing the gaskets is almost equivalent to a down payment on a new car.

    After I traded my non-working car in for $500, I financed a 2010 Hyundai Sonata. I want my next car to be either a Hyundai Genesis, a Buick Regal or Lacrosse, or a Maxima. I hate my expensive taste. -_-

    Only feature I “need” is an aux port/usb port. A touchscreen would be nice but isn’t necessary..

  4. I have a 2006 Hyundai Tucson that I purchased used. I was looking for something with low milage and a reasonable car note as well and I got it.

  5. I have an ’07 Dodge Charger.. I bought it used in 2007. It runs like a champ and hasn’t given me much trouble. I would like a Maserati next. Probably will settle on a grocery getter Benz though.

  6. I have a 2011 Hyundai Sonata, purchased new. I pay not much more than what you’re looking for payment wise. So yeah, it can be done.

  7. I drive a 2003 Ford Focus. I bought it used in 2005. I have had no issues with it( thank God) and it is now paid off. I would really like a larger car. My daughter is good for propping her little feet on my seats and it gets on my nerves. I need her to have room for her legs to hang down like they are supposed to. Actually they CAN hang she just chooses to put them on the headrest while I’m driving.

    I would like a small SUV like a honda CRV or a Ford Edge. I just don’t want to pay those prices. I’ll probably roll my little car until shes on her last leg.

  8. I bought a Hyundai Tucson new in 2005 and paid her off. She’s been so good to me and I’m currently enjoying the luxury of not paying Hyundai Motor Finance another dime. My next car will likely be another Hyundai SUV. Want features: leather interior, AUX jack, satellite radio, heated seats and auto start. Need features: 4WD. But this won’t be for a while. Maybe 2020? Sylvie and I have a long way to go.

  9. Hell, I’d like a ride, period. I’ve never owned a car. I live in NYC, so it’s not necessary–but I would like to own a car of my own. I have my mind set on a 2009 Nissan Rogue. The only feature I’d want are power windows and doors, really. Good luck with your car!

  10. A 07 Hon.da. min.i.van that I bought new. I intend to drive it til the wheels fall off…and then get a 2-3 year old b.m.w., most like convertable.

  11. I drive a 2011 Kia Forte. I like the hands free feature, the sync and satellite radio. Oh, I CANNOT and WILL NOT live without a remote start. It is TOO cold up here in the winter to go without. Nuh, uh, never again.

    I’ve only had my car just over a year. I purchased in March 2011. I’m looking forward to paying this one off and driving it until a) the wheels fall off or b) I get my Cranberry Range Rover with cream leather interior.

  12. I drive a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica.I bought it used in 2007 and nearly cried recently because I had in my mind that it would be paid for this year when really I have one more year left. My car will stay rolling until the wheels fall off.

    My next car will be a luxury vehicle and we will be putting at least half down. I need the car note to be no more than $300. I have to have a good sound system.

Leave a Reply

