Home » All Things Beauty » Juicy, Drive ‘Em Crazy

Juicy, Drive ‘Em Crazy

See, what happened was…

I was bored at work last Friday. Everyone was gone and whatever work I had to pretend to do had long been accomplished.

So I decided to check out the offerings on Netflix. Scrolled over to the documentaries section and decided on two.  One was “Still Bill” and is about a musical artist I’ve always loved – Bill Withers.  If you get a chance, you should check it out.  He is one cool, cool dude.  Wait.  Where was I?  Oh yes, the other documentary was “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead.”  Y’all!

Basically it’s about two dudes who lose a tremendous amount of weight and clear up all sorts of chronic and acute health problems by adopting a “juice only” diet for a number of days.

And now guess who’s going to do it?  Oh yeah, that’s right.  Your favorite blog-land nerd – moi!  I don’t need – or want – to lose hundreds of pounds.  About 10 will get me right.   So what I’ve decided to do is one meal + unlimited juice for a week.  After that I think I’m going to substitute the juice for one meal – probably breakfast.  In addition to the weight loss, I’m hoping consuming the additional nutrients will help me with my eczema – it has gotten increasingly worse over the last two years or so and I’d really like to chunk the topical steroids in the garbage.  I’m pretty sure they cannot be good for my health.

After some hints and suggestions from One From Philly (thanks again!), this is the juicer I’m going with – I’m just waiting for a 20% BB&B coupon to make its way to me.  As soon as I get the juicer, it’s a go.  I’ll let y’all know how it goes and if there are truly any benefits beyond the weight loss.

Do you juice? What’s your favorite combo? If you don’t is it something you’d consider??

If you’re interested, here’s the link to the documentary:  http://www.fatsickandnearlydead.com/

And if you’re like my Mom and that link doesn’t work for you (O_O), here it is on hulu:  http://www.hulu.com/watch/289122/fat-sick-and-nearly-dead

Am I supposed to put some sort of disclaimer on this entry? This is my blog, no one paid me to push this movie, I’m certainly not making any money from it, and if I pass out ’cause all I’ve consumed is some celery juice, I promise not to sue.  How’d I do counselors??

14 thoughts on “Juicy, Drive ‘Em Crazy

  1. This is what I’ve been doing for the past week which, honestly, started out of pure boredom over the holiday weekend. Instead of water (which never occurred to me to use), I used the juice of a lemon, orange or both. If using lemon juice, adding a little honey will help cut down on the tart taste but I like it tart. 😀

    I love using spinach leaves to make salads but don’t necessarily want to taste it in this. I enjoy the fact that you don’t but gain all its nutrients. I started out with just spinach, strawberries and juice from the fruit but recently added bananas, blueberries and raspberries. The funny thing is, I’m not a fan of BB’s or RSB’s but I figured if it’s blended up…..who cares?! LOL As far as routine, I drink one in the morning for sure and sometimes in the evening as well.

  2. i juice – but cleaning the jack lalanne juicer is a real pain in the toucass…
    so now i juice/blend in the blender – pros: all the nutrients plus the fiber; easy cleanup.
    typically i use – spinach, cucumber, apple and a banana(to make it thicker) and approx a cup of water; i add spirulina to the mix also..then i let it go.
    its hard to quantify what it does to my energy levels since i’m mostly lethargic but one day i inadvertently forgot to juice and i was very sluggish by the afternoon – so it helps energy levels. my skin is fine – i saw no noticeable improvement since drinking but then again i dont have problem skin.
    enjoy – i’d rather drink my veggies than eat them!

    • If it helps with my energy levels that would be the icing on the cake. I feel like I’m always tired. I talked to my boss – who is a doc – and he suggested that if I do this I add an iron supplement. Makes sense, so I’m going to give that a try as well.

    • LOL! That’s one of the things the dude missed the most – chewing. He broke his fast with an apple and I was almost uncomfortable watching him enjoy it…I signed up for the coupon – it just occurred to me to check my junk folder – there it was!

  3. And that’s why I dont watch movies like that. This one and theres another out there that will turn me into a vegetarian. I’m not ready man! I’m making changes but I dont want a movie to scare me into it. I’ll get there. But please share your experience. Maybe your results can sway me. And those juicers are so dang expensive.

    • I must confess it wasn’t just the movie. My mom – who is pretty fit and is vegetarian – has been told that her cholesterol is high and that she’s pre-diabetic. Since there’s no way that is diet-related for her, I figure it’s hereditary and I need to make some moves now for preventive measure.

      *Pretty sure I violated all kinds of HIPPA laws telling all my Mama’s business like that!*

    • The Nutri Bullet is light, small but powerful and an easy clean up. It won’t separate the juice from the pulp. I think that’s the big difference from a standard juicer.

  4. So I hope you got your Nutri Bullet by now. I LOVE MINE!!! Easy to clean and it keeps the fiber with the juice. I’ve been replacing breakfast with one green smootie for 3 weeks. I have my S/O doing this too and he has been bragging to everyone about how easy it is to go to the bathroom..LOL (TMI!). If I’m hungry before lunchtime I eat an apple or some other fruit or have a boiled egg. I lost 4 lbs right away.

    I just discovered a new favorite. Collards, mango, pineapple, banana, and some Chia seed for omega-3. This is the first time I’ve used collards and I’m surprised at how smooth and light the flavor is. 🙂

  5. This is a cool idea. I taught my kids how to make their own smoothies in the blenderand those younguns’ started adding ice cream. I’m trying to lose about 15 pounds and this might be a good way to jump start it.

Leave a Reply

