Home » Life In General » Welcome to Atlanta – Jacks and Hammers and Vogues

Welcome to Atlanta – Jacks and Hammers and Vogues

So…I went to Atlanta for a meeting. The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools – Commission on Colleges Summer Institute.  Oh yeah, it was that kind of party.  Would you like a recap?  Of course you would.

Sunday

Wake up around 5:30a and laze around trying to determine whether or not I want to go to 7:30 service and decide that I do not.  At around 9, I decide to check my itinerary one last time to confirm my flight out is at 12:51p.  It is not.  My flight out is at 10:30a.  Oops.  God takes care of fools and babies!  I hop in the shower, we make a doughnut run, and Smoochy and LG drop me at the airport.  My baby girl cries and I feel awful for leaving her.  The feeling dissipates as soon as they pull away from the curb.

Make it to ATL and after hearing the price of a cab to the hotel I decide to do the state a solid and hop on MARTA.  I tweet about how great MARTA is and Babs promptly shuts down that theory!  Nobody told me I needed the MARTA card thingy to exit the station.  Of course I can not find my card in the abyss that is my tote bag.  So I brilliantly slide behind another lady who is exiting the station.  Do I really need to tell you I was trapped by the plastic gates of death and were it not for the kindness of some random stranger dude who helped free me and my roll-on bag, I may not even be here typing this story?  No, I do not need to tell you that.  Sure don’t.

Check in at the loverly Omni CNN and take a nap.  Go to opening session.  Have no clue why I’m even there.

Dinner with the ladies!  Met up with Babs, KRock, Keyalus, DiscoDiva and Cali Slim for dinner at Vortex.  Had a ball.  Everybody is really genuine and their personalities are true to their writing and commenting style.  They’re also…shorter than I’d imagined.  Thank God Cali Slim was there and repping for team “Talls” otherwise I’d have been the solo rep (though I did have on a wedge heel – I’m not that tall!).  If you want to see a pic of us in all our glory, click here.  I am just so glad for the people I have met all because of the blogosphere!  I had a bison burger.  Tasted like beef.  Looked like it too.  See.

Bison burger with swiss and mushrooms. That red onion brought me joy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Monday

Meetings.  Yay!  (I’m working on increasing my positive thoughts and statements. Work with me.)

That night I went to the Braves game.  Had a great time surrounded by thousands of my closest friends.

Beautiful night for a game. Nice stadium!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday

Meetings and home.  Yay!

 
I tell you what – the men of ATL certainly are not shy about their, uh, appreciation of women.  And neither, for that fact, are the women.  Some lady who worked at the hotel creeped me out with her constant friendly greetings.  “Good morning beautiful.  Hey good looking.  How you doing sweets?  Can I get you anything?  Like that skirt.  I’ve been waiting to see you this morning.”  Um ma’am?  Step off.

Also, I know that Atlanta is the home of Coca Cola but I need meeting locales to provide something to drink besides Coke, Diet Coke, and Sprite.  There’s this miracle drink called water and I’ve about drunk my weight in it since I got home!

There are some beautiful dreadlocked heads in Atlanta, my goodness!   KRock’s hair is sooooo pretty.  Most of the other awesome locks were on dudes.

I guess that’s it.  Oh, no it’s not.  That picture Babs posted along with the super toned arms of a blogger who shall go unnamed (Keyalus) have motivated me to get myself back in the workout saddle.  Here we go.  Again.

Thanks ATL for the good times!  Hadn’t been there since I chaperoned a college tour eons ago – ’twas great to get reacquainted 🙂

 

17 thoughts on “Welcome to Atlanta – Jacks and Hammers and Vogues

  1. How did that short post make me want to move to Atlanta today??? W/neither of us having a job there??? I love that city! K Rock’s hair is indeed awesome. It’s not good when the best thing you can say about the burger is the onion. Still a Vortex fan. Their fried pickles??? LAWDAMERCY!

    • I didn’t mean to imply the burger wasn’t good – it was. I was just expecting it to taste at least a little more…different that a beef burger. The red onion gave it some bite.

  2. “I’ve been waiting to see you this morning.”

    *screams* I know you’re not fond of such language but a “look b*tch” works (for men & women alike) in a pinch. Ask me how I know.

  3. Thanks for the compliment! Your hair was bouncy and beautiful too.

    Glad you had a good time. You know everybody here drinks coke and coke products. I am surprised there was no Dasani (Coke’s water) at your conference.

    I am on and off that workout horse more than I care to admit. Here’s hoping you put some good time in on it this time.

    • You’re welcome! I actually googled which water was Coke’s because I was certain they had one – and that I should’ve offered me some! Here’s hoping indeed.

  4. See I told Krock that the dudes in ATL are pretty forward. I only got flirted with by one girl and that was in McDonalds lol. (Krock it was girl who held the door open for us when we were leaving! lmao)

    I’m glad you had a good trip. . . next time, come to LA! lol

  5. Both you and K. Rock have such beautiful locks! I’m telling you, if I were to ever go natural, I would go that route because I can visualize myself with that kind of hair before any other natural hair.

    Re: the arms – thanks! My weight training game is so weak right now though. Can’t figure out why my arms are still fairly shapely!

    Should I feel bad that no women in ATL have ever flirted with me? I’ve been here for 15 years!

  6. I get more holler from women than I do men in this city.

    ‘Twas great meeting you! I’m glad you made it to Turner Field. And glad you felt safe enough to venture outside of your hotel despite warnings from your meeting leader.

    Next time bring LoveGirl.

    • I couldn’t believe she said that. I mean, I guess better safe than sorry, but some folks are so scary they probably didn’t step foot outside the hotel.

      Great meeting you too – I’ll definitely bring LG next go ’round!

  7. I’m so glad you had a great time–and y’all look gorgeous in the photo. As far as folks trying to step to you…girl…when I went to Australia a guy there would not cut it out with the little comments till I got straight up rude.

Leave a Reply

