Home » Book Club » Backyard Boogie Oogie Oogie

Backyard Boogie Oogie Oogie

This post has nothing to do with backyards or boogies.  But Mac 10 has been running through my head for the last few days so I thought I’d share!

“Straight from Inglewood and you know that it’s all good!”  Okay, moving along…

  • Our next book club read will be The Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon.  We’ll discuss on Monday, October 22.
  • Remember those 8 pounds the doctor suggested I lose?  5 of them are gone!  Woo hoo and all that jazz!
  • Speaking of shedding excess poundage.  I got caught up y’all.  Caught up in all of the tweets and blog stories and feelings of success & exhilaration and so I have…drum-roll please…signed up for Couch to 5K.  It’s with the Y, so childcare is not an issue.  Starting next week, I’ll be running.  Have mercy.
  • There are two older women in my office who are, to put it bluntly, bitchy.  My friend who is the director of operations for the office wants to call a staff meeting to straighten them out.  Uh, how are you going to tell these women who are pushing 60 that they need to be kinder, gentler people?  Those old biddies are not trying to hear that!
  • My brother called me and told me he was bored with life in general.  I told him to concentrate on doing something for others and/or taking a class or two to explore something he’s interested in.  When I get bored like that I go back to school.  Or have a child.  How do you cope when you feel restless with your life?
  • If you think I’ve gone and purchased a dress for my brother’s wedding?  You’d be wrong.  Why am I playing like this wedding isn’t in three weeks?!?
  • I’ve been playing with eye makeup so I can get all glam for the wedding.  My eye makeup, when I wear it, is usually a brown shadow and a bit of mascara. This morning I went for a darker, more dramatic look.  LG told me I looked like I had a black eye.  Or was very tired.  #SmokeyEyeFail
  • Speaking of my pint-sized beauty adviser, that chick ran by me this morning and there I stood – in a cloud of funk!  Ma’am! What are you doing in the bathtub?  Or rather, what are you not doing?!? Tonight, I’m watching the festivities ’cause she is too old to be missing hot spots and smelling like onions and outdoors.

And that’s it!  Should be a nice, relaxing weekend.  LG wants to go to a dinosaur exhibit so I’m going to make that happen.  Hopefully I’ll remember to go buy a dress for the wedding, and the rest of the weekend will be spent in my armchair reading while Smoochy watches every football game in the U.S. of A.

Hope your weekend is absolutely wonderful ~ enjoy!!

 

9 thoughts on “Backyard Boogie Oogie Oogie

  1. Congrats on the weight loss!

    Yay Couch to 5K! I sant wait to hear how it goes. So that means I have a race recap to look forward to from you. O the excitement!

    I am familar with pre-pubescent funk. My son gets that Wendy’s onions smell quite often. i thnk he just plays in the shower too.

    The makeup probably wasnt as bad as you think. When you dont wear makeup, when you see it on your face it looks like something is wrong. I got all dolled up one time and people told me it was pretty but I thought I looked like a clown bc I’m not used to it. I think it helps to take pictures of yourself with the makeup on too so you can see what it really looks like to other people.

  2. I think I misread your entry. Did you say you are doing the C25K program?!!!!!!? That ‘swonderful! Mama Sez is PROUD of you. I just finished Week 1, Day 3 yesterday. Bring your running shoes and we can do a lap or two while the others are at the rehearsal dinner 🙂 I knew you could do it. YaY! *jumping up and down, hands in the air, fist pumping, and doing the twinkle-toe dance.*

    BTW: K Rock rocks some good observations and advice. Liking me somoe K Rock!

  3. Congrats on the weight loss! And C25K is great…and so good that you are doing with a group!

    I love the book selection. Just reserved it a my library and can’t wait to read it.

    I struggle makeup too. Sometimes I think I look great…and 2 min later I am wiping the makeup up cuz I look like a clown. But keep at it!

  4. And I immediately reserved the book at the library. I should have it early next week. *dougies* Shout out to you for smashing weight loss like that! Okay killa! You already know I’m soooo excited about the running! YAY!!! MA’AM! How are we supposed to tell you what to wear if you won’t actually go try on the clothes??? Also, I need to win by having chosen by a random internet photo the dress you actually look best in! So work hard at that since I was alone in selecting the dress I liked most! Make a stop by the makeup counter and ask them for the ONE product you can use for foolproof fancy eye makeup. (Then maybe buy two but set their expectations low.) ROTFL @ a cloud of funk! Onions and outdoors! I can’t! I watched many many years of What Not to Wear to learn how to do makeup. I’m kind of proud of what I learned! (But rarely use it.)

  5. When you have some free time stop by the make-up counter of your favorite products. They love to make folks up for free, then you can buy what you like and duplicate what they did…if you liked the results.

    5 down..3 to go..WOOHOO!!!

    C25K..WOOOHOOO!!!

    When I got bored with life I started making wine, now I’m back to roller skating weekly, next I’m going to take a Spanish class. There’s a whole lot to do in this world.

    I have a son…I KNOW funk.

  6. i almost started crip walking when i read the title! lol INGLEWOOD! ok that was ratchet but oh well

    congrats on your weight loss, that is awesome!

    I don’t wear make-up very often at all but my eyes are where I shine! I love playing with colors and what not. I always get compliments. I agree with taking a pic of it and see how it looks to other people.

    not onions and outside!!! I can’t with the kid funk

Leave a Reply

