Home » Fitness » C25KD1 aka Couch to 5K Day 1

C25KD1 aka Couch to 5K Day 1

Y’all!  I promise I am not going to post about every run I do (mostly ’cause there probably won’t be that many) but let me tell you – I’ve been hoodwinked! Bamboozled! Led astray! Run amuck!

Remember I signed up for C25K with the Y, yes?  Okay.  Last night was our first outing.  In preparation I downloaded a C25K app so I could see what I was in for.  The app outlined a 30 minute workout.  5 minutes of warm up, 20 minutes of run/walk, and 5 minutes of cool down.

Um, yeah.  Our group – there are 6 of us – met up at 6 to do the dang thang.  We’re led by some perky chick who could give the Kenyans a run for their money – she runs those crazy long races.  She’s also 7 weeks pregnant.  Heifer.  Anyway, where was I?

Oh yes.  We meet up and start with a 5 minute warm up walk.  I’m feeling this.  We then run. For 2 minutes!  Ma’am.  I just got off the couch.  Shouldn’t we ease into this?!?!?  What happened to the nice 90 second jog?  And we did all three miles!  I thought we’d start off with a nice 1 mile routine or something.  Nope.  We jogged/walked for an entire 3 miles.  Took us 42 minutes.  I wanted to cry.  My thighs are waging their own protest by refusing to function in the manner to which I have become accustomed.  By the time I regain feeling in my thighs it’ll be Thursday.  And time to run again.  Jesus, be some working quadriceps muscles.

 

 

10 thoughts on “C25KD1 aka Couch to 5K Day 1

  1. *pulls out my pom poms* Gimme a Nerd! Gimme a Girl! You can do it!! (that’s an original cheer. You can feel free to use it if you want).

    I am not terribly familiar with the C25K program but I thought that it was an ease in kind of process. I really think ole lady is leading it the wrong way. BUT in spite of that, you did it! And you’ll do it again tomorrow!

  2. That’s my (Nerd) Girl!!!!! I am soooo proud of you. This is the beginning of a wonderful experience for you. We may even be able to run a 5K together one day. As you progress it will get easier for you . . . I hope o_O. Stick with it. You will be so pleased with your accomplishments.

    *Joining K Rock with my pom poms — Gooooo Nerd Girl*

  3. GOOD FOR YOU!!! Make sure that you walk at least 1 mile in between runs. And do some mild stretches. That soreness will wear off in no time. Keep up the good work!

    You know you can always consult with the Tri’s, Bikers and 1/2 Marathoners. They are great inspiration.

  4. ha ha ha!
    you did good! you finished – that’s impressive.
    Look this is your benchmark – this is the worse you can do.
    I’m rooting for you – soon we’ll be hearing that you’re regularly breaking 30 mins!

  5. Yeah… she’s not doing it right. But don’t give up! I PROMISE in just three days of running a week you’ll be able to tell a difference in how you feel during runs in two weeks.

Leave a Reply

