Home » Life In General » Bells Will Be Ringing

Bells Will Be Ringing

Even though I work in a hospital, I rarely see patients.  When I worked over on the “hospital side” in Anesthesiology and then Surgery, I saw patients and their families all of the time – in my comings and goings, not as a practitioner.

Anyhoo, I’ve been on the “administrative side” for a little over a year and now it’s just me and a bunch of suits for the most part.  I don’t see patients or their families unless I wander over to the hospital for lunch (very rarely) or to socialize (far more likely).

Today I went over to the Children’s Hospital to hear the hand bell choir from the local home for adults with developmental disabilities.  Let me tell you.  I started tearing up right there in the hospital lobby.  Between the “Seedsters” ringing those bells to the tune of well-loved Christmas songs and the little bitty patients with their bald heads, sterility masks, and tubes running through their fragile bodies I had a hard time keeping my emotions in check.

I am so very, very thankful for my health and that of my family – especially our babies.  I don’t know what tomorrow will bring, but today they are all strong, healthy, as “normal” as they can be, and growing and thriving in this wonderful world.  There is tremendous blessing in that.  Tremendous!

There is nothing like a stroll through the halls of the hospital to remind me not to take health and all that it affords us for granted.

 

2 thoughts on “Bells Will Be Ringing

  1. Sometimes we need to be reminded how blessed we really are. I know I do sometimes and I’m thankful for the reminders. It’s helping me be more thankful and grateful.

Leave a Reply

