Home » Life In General » Living in America

Living in America

I’d just landed in D.C. when the verdict in the George Zimmerman trial was announced. Not guilty. Of course.

I wish I could say I was shocked, but I’m not. It saddens me greatly to know that an overzealous, paranoid, armed man can admit to having killed an unarmed, minding his own business boy and get away with it, but it doesn’t shock me.  I wish it did.

That we are fighting the same battles in 2013 that we were generations ago is mind boggling. 

To quote the great activist Ms. Fannie Lou Hamer, I am sick and tired of being sick and tired.

4 thoughts on “Living in America

  1. I feel like the prosecution wanted to lose the case. Why would they introduce the video of the Killer’s interview? If the prosecution had presented it, I would think the state could object and say they don’t get a chance to cross exam the killer. He either testifies or he doesn’t.

    I only watched a few minutes of Rachel J’s testimony. When I heard 6 women made up the jury, I figured it was lost, no need to watch. How did the prosecution let that happen?

  2. I was surprised. But maybe more saddened than surprised. I wanted the jury to see what I saw and when they didn’t I was mad.

    But I probably had lowered expectations in relation to the jury because I know that a Florida town like Sanford is filled with people like GZ, or people who think like him, and as much as I wanted them to find him guilty, I wasn’t surprised that they couldn’t see outside of their small-town minds to see the reality of the situation. Fucked up is an understatement.

Leave a Reply

