Home » Life In General » On Second Thought

On Second Thought

LG has had a number of little school assignments and projects that have left me unable to keep my gym schedule the way I need to. So I decided I was going to try running again. I set my alarm for 4:30 this a.m. having decided I’d jog/walk for 30 minutes around our cul-de-sac then come on inside and get my day started.

When I got up this morning, all I could think was “It’s still dark outside, what if one of my neighbors thinks I’m some scary person and shoots me down?!?” Then I thought I was being ridiculous. Then I decided that the little voice in my head, who I like to think is God, doesn’t steer me wrong.  I held plank a few times, lifted some light weights, and called it a day.

Whether it’s God, my reaction to the news as of late, or even my just not wanting to run, I don’t know. But this morning I decided to pay heed to the voice and exercise some chill – within the confines of my home.

Has the news and all its reports of unarmed folks being gunned down for one reason or another caused you to second guess doing something that perhaps a few months ago wouldn’t have given you any pause at all? Just me?

13 thoughts on “On Second Thought

  1. So, how early do you need to be awake? I think the sun is up at 5 so why not go at 5 instead of 4:30. 4:30 is too early esp if its dark outside. if you’re going to jog outside, make sure its bright outside so others can see you and you can see them. I don’t jog in the dark. All of that to say, try a later time, if it will work for you.

    • The sun isn’t up at 5. After I read your comment I tried to pay attention to what time there would be enough sunlight for me to feel safe outside, but missed it. Anyhoo, later won’t work – by the time there’s enough sun, I need to be working toward getting us out of the house. Thanks for the suggestion though – may be an option once winter is over.

  2. You aren’t the only one having these thoughts. The other day my honey pit on a dark gray hoodie to go out at the crack of dawn to warm up my car. My first though was that someone could see him as a threat and kill him.

    Check out YouTube for workouts. I have a few I do daily so weather is never an excuse for me not to do it.

    • It is so sad that these are still considerations and worries we have to deal with. I remember once Smoochy got out of the car when we were pulled over by an officer. I was screaming and hollering for him to get back in the car before he got gunned. Down. The cop looked at me like I was crazy. Whatever sir, whatever.

      Thanks for the YT suggestion – will do!

  3. Nope…I think about people doing NOTHING wrong and still ending up dead so it gives me pause. I make sure to walk the kids in lighted areas and if its too late, they don’t get walks anymore (and that makes me feel SO bad).

    I wear a hoodie most times and I always think of Trayvon.

      • One does (Shai-ming)…the other 2 don’t like walking but one is a daschund (Schatzi) who I need to walk so he doesn’t gain weight. My old man, Yashi sleeps about 25 hours a day so he is annoyed when we walk. But I am a firm believer in walks are good for all!

  4. Last week, the mailman left my neighbor’s prescription in my mailbox. I sent one of the boys over to take it to her and when I looked out, all I could see was a young, black kid in a gray hoodie, standing on her porch, ringing her doorbell. I know I looked crazy hollering out of the door and waving but for some reason I got really, really scared.

    So yeah, I know what you mean. Not to mention, somebody out to do harm might be riding around in your neighborhood and there are very few people up that early that will hear you hollar for help!

  5. The time change does affect our walks. We both work so by the time we make it home there is maybe 30-45 minutes worth of daylight left. We’re not scared of anything…just lazy. LOL! I hate to cheat the dogs though so sometimes I go it alone (during winter months) but just around our subdivision. I have two dogs (one who is almost 100 lbs.) so I don’t worry to much about anyone trying to get froggy with me.

Leave a Reply

