Home » Life In General » Really? Really?

Really? Really?

I have a group of friends that used to get together regularly – every 5 weeks or so – and go out to dinner. You know – Girl’s Night Out. I somehow became the organizer. Ugh. But okay.

And then.

It started. “Who else is coming?” “I only want to go if we go to Biaggi’s.” “Is it okay if my husband comes?”

What.In.The.World.

It’s Girl’s Night out. Naw. Your husband can’t come. Why does it matter who else is coming – you’re either in or you’re out. We are sick and dadgum tired of eating at Biaggi’s – let’s branch out mmkay?

So, as a group we haven’t been getting together lately. I’ve hung out with everybody individually, but the group thing has fallen off. And that’s fine with me. I was tired of herding cats. And one girl never wants to go to anything that’s not dinner. Concert? No. Movie? No. Salsa dancing? No. You get my drift…

A girl I went to school with called me last week and asked if I wanted to go to a concert with her – yes, yes I do, sign me up! She was going to buy tickets that upcoming Monday and asked if I knew anyone else who wanted to go, she’d be glad to get tickets as long as everybody would pay her back, etc. etc.

What did I do with my foolish self? I texted the ladies to see if anyone wanted to go. Lo and behold the one who never wants to go anywhere besides a restaurant texts back and says she wants to go. I reply “okay cool. My friend X is going to buy tickets Monday, she will get one for you too.” And then she texted back and said “Oh, never mind. I didn’t know someone else was going. I’ll pass.” Um. Are we dating? I don’t get it. I really don’t.

Then her sister calls to tell me she’s really upset with me because she thought we were going somewhere together, not with my other friend. Do they even know each other and have some long standing feud? No. No they do not.

I don’t have time for this foolishness. You are really and truly mad with me because of this? Okay. Whatever. I didn’t have time for this madness when I was 16, 26, or 36. I’m surely not playing these games at the ripe old age of 41.

But. I do try and look at things from other people’s perspectives. So I’ve gone over this in my head more than I care to admit. I still don’t see how going with two folks is offensive and all kinds of wrong.

What do y’all think? And do you deal with this madness with your girlfriends? I promise I prefer hanging out with men. But that’s frowned upon, so…

Anyhoo, talk to me. Soap opera says you’ve only got one life to live. Who’s right? Who’s wrong? …sorry, I got distracted 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Really? Really?

  1. I don’t normally hang out with other females because of this type of mess! I too prefer to hang out with men, but as you said, that is frowned upon. Sooooo, its normally me and the hubby or I ride alone! If I want to see a movie, I go by myself; out to dinner, by myself.

    There is a young lady who moved to Mississippi from Michigan and she LOVES TO GO! Well, since I have to limit my outings, she is just a little too over the top for me at times, but recently we went for a girls night out and had loads of fun. She invited some other ladies that I don’t usually hang out with, and it was refreshing!

    If there is mess; people tend to see me less!

  2. The only time this kind of thing bugs me is if it’s my sister, because it is impossible to schedule things with her and then she will bring a complete stranger with her (stranger to me, not to her) and I can’t just talk to my sister about family business in front of this person. But in this instance you are going to a concert where you won’t be sitting around having a heart to heart! I don’t see the problem. I would be too. Annoyed. And Over. It!

  3. I don’t know which is more ridiculous – her saying she didn’t want to go because someone else was going or her sister calling to tell you the chick was upset. Some people just don’t have enough important things in their lives to see how petty shit like this is, I guess.

  4. This is really sad. I don’t think my friends do this…but I also don’t have a lot of friends. *pokes lip out*

    In 2014, I am planning on trying new restaurants. I am finding the restaurant and letting people know where I am going and the day/time. If they wish to join me, cool. If not, cool.

    Trying to get people to agree, etc is way more effort than its worth.

Leave a Reply

