Home » Life In General » Jackson, Memphis, Dallas, SoCal, …and Back!

Jackson, Memphis, Dallas, SoCal, …and Back!

So, at the last minute I decided I needed to go home and check on my Grandma. I started looking at ticket prices and the only numbers popping up on my screen were $979, $1125 and other such nonsense.

I said “Look God. I want/need to go home and see my granny. And I need this to happen for about $300. So I went to Price.line, put in $300 and the next thing I knew, my trip was booked. I did a happy praise dance right there in my office!

Thursday I worked half a day, then hopped in my car and drove to Memphis (cheap tickets aren’t always the most convenient…). After battling Memphis traffic I found myself at Psonya’s home where I chilled, watched Scandal, learned that those little Hawaiian roll sandwiches floating around on Pint.erest really are quite tasty, and slept.

Friday, I got up early in the morning and flew out. After a quick layover in Dallas, I was back in SoCal grinning in my mama’s face. We went home, hung around with my dad and middle brother (he came in from AR), shopped a little and then headed to L.A.to see my Grandma. She was surprised and happy to see me. I was happy to see her and find that she was doing soooo much better than she had been earlier in the week. We visited for a few hours, went to Roscoe’s for chicken/waffles, then back to the house.

Saturday my brother – who is training for a marathon – suggested that since it was his off day from running we all take a little walk. Cool? Cool. Except. I put on yoga pants, a tshirt and the only tennis shoes I packed – my Chuck Taylors. My dad came out of his room with hiking boots, a walking stick, water strapped around his waist, a hat, and shades. Sir. Where are you going?!?!? We all walk outside and he makes a move toward the car. My brother shouts “it’s a set up, don’t get in the car!!!!” Like a fool I get in the car. My dad drives us to some mountain trail where we proceed to hike up and down a trail for the next hour. -_-. I can’t believe I fell for the okey doke. But, it was a good little hike and as soon as I get the feeling back in my legs I’ll let you know. Brother and I then went to In-N-Out for burgers. I will fall off my “no beef” bandwagon for them! Straight hometown nostalgia. My mom and I then went and got Thai massages. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – Thai massages are the bomb! Now, they’re not really relaxing affairs – those folks stretch and pull and knead you all kinds of ways. Gives new meaning to the phrase “hurts so good.” But when they finish? Whew Lawd! Greed dictated that I stop by Taco Nazo and have one fish taco, which I did. I was still full from my burger, but I had to have one! Then back to L.A. to visit my Grandma – at home! That’s right, they released her from the hospital and she’s back at the house. She’s happy about it as are we all! Only God knows what tomorrow holds, but right now, all is well in my world and for that I am thankful! Thank you for your prayers!

Sunday we got up at the crack of dawn, headed to the airport and two flights and a three point five hour drive later I was back home. So glad to see Smoochy and LG! Smoochy left for work about minutes after I got home, I think LG caught me up on how she’d spent her weekend and the next thing I knew, my alarm was going off and it was time to get back into the swing of things.

How was your weekend?

20131216-091004.jpg

Psonya & Aidan!

20131216-091025.jpg

Roscoe’s! (Not as tasty as it used to be. I hate when that happens!)

20131216-091042.jpg

My brother. The most hot chocolate drinking grown man I’ve ever known!

20131216-091217.jpg

Before our “walk!”

20131216-091252.jpg

In-N-Out. That’s what a hamburger’s all about!

20131216-091323.jpg

Un taco pescado por favor. Muy delicioso!

20131216-091335.jpg

Until next time!

5 thoughts on “Jackson, Memphis, Dallas, SoCal, …and Back!

  1. Now THAT”S an action packed weekend! Glad that your Grandmom is well enough to come home. 🙂

    I chaperoned a Teen dance on Saturday. Where I was the only one dancing most of the time. The other chaperones came out of on the floor to Wobble, and Move to the left-Move to the right. The rest of the night the Teens sat in the chairs, looked at their cell phones and didn’t dance, didn’t even talk to each other very much. I went to an Old School party in Philly Nov 23rd, and we closed that joint DOWN. The dance floor stayed packed. The 40+ crowd can get it in! The Teens…not so much. hmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

