Home » Life In General » If It Quacks Like a Duck…

If It Quacks Like a Duck…

So apparently some man with a copious amount of facial hair who stars on a reality show I’ve never watched is in hot water because of some inflammatory remarks he made concerning homosexuals. He has been indefinitely suspended from his show for his remarks. He also said some off the wall things about black people, but no one’s upset about that. Surprise, surprise.

For the purpose of today’s entry, I’m just going to deal with the whole homosexuality/belief issue.

I am a Christian. I believe homosexuality is a sin. Not the biggest sin, not the smallest, not the worst. These are man-made labels. God doesn’t sit around tallying up “big” and “little” sins. “Just” a sin.

Having said that I think homosexuality is a sin makes me a bigot. Or at least it does according to newspaper articles, opinion pieces, facebook and folks on the twitter. Oh well.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t think gay folks should be discriminated against, deemed criminal, or any of that other foolishness. I also don’t think that being gay leads to be.stiality as the duck dude stated. I just think it’s wrong. I’m not picketing in front of any one’s home, boycotting their business, refusing to hire them, or protesting their right to marry. The God I believe in has given us the freedom of choice and just because I don’t agree with someone’s choices doesn’t mean I hate them. Does it?  (And I’m using the word choice ’cause that’s all I’ve got. I’m aware that many people don’t believe that sexual orientation is a choice. I’m not here to debate that one way or another.)

I have to wonder when we, as a society, made the leap and decided that disagreeing with someone’s thoughts/behavior/opinions is equal to hating said person.

I wonder what you all think of this. Does thinking the way I do – about homosexuality or any other issue – automatically make one a bigot? Have we become too politically correct making people afraid to honestly answer questions posed to them?

Please head over to the comments and share your thoughts. I really am curious to know where folks stand on this one. As always, please remember to keep your comments civil. Thanks!

22 thoughts on “If It Quacks Like a Duck…

  1. I totally agree with this. I tweeted earlier about how it’s ok to say you support lgbt causes but if u say u do not support then your considered bashing. I do believe people should be allowed to speak their opinions either way. I do think society is just heading towards a place of not wanting people to discuss their religious beliefs openly as if they should be ashamed.

    • Your last sentence is the truth! It is sad to me that stating your religious belief – Christian or any other – has become such an ordeal. And that Christianity has been cast in such a negative light.

  2. I’ve always been taught that homosexuality is against God’s design (“Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve”). I don’t have a beef about how other people choose(? still wondering about this-is it a choice or is it like depression and just a mix of chromosomes that cause you to be that way) to live their lives, though. I don’t think disagreement with people’s lifestyle makes anyone a bigot. No one is spewing hatred or denying anyone’s beliefs. I worry about explaining it to my children, but the world is changing and soon all of these things will be normal…

    • Since you mentioned it…I think that some people choose a homosexual lifestyle while for others it is not a choice at all, they truly were born that way to quote Gaga. Which I’ve tried to reconcile with my beliefs. I’ve decided this is one of those issues I’m not meant to truly, fully, understand.

  3. I agree with your commentary. I, too, am a christian and believe homosexuality is a sin. I also believe in free will and choice. I think it is wrong to deny someone else the right to exercise their own free will. Not allowing a person to marry, etc., does not remove the homosexual act (which is the sin. Hating or discriminating against another because of your religious beliefs means you are “judging” them. Doesn’t the Bible say something about “Judge ye not… . “

  4. No, thinking that homosexuality is wrong does not make you a bigot. God gave us five senses and he expects us to use them in all aspects of our lives. That means we have the ability to think and make judgments for ourselves. Just because you say “I don’t like what you do/said/wore/ate” does not mean “I don’t like you as a person.” I mean, sometimes it does (Sarah Palin about the first family) but most of the time it doesn’t. And really, if its not a family member or close friend- who cares enough to try and make the other person understand?

    • True that. No one has said “NG, you are a bigot” and if they did, I wouldn’t care. I’ve just noticed that’s the general trend these days. Does saying “these days” make me sound like my grandma? Yes, yes it does.

  5. I think the main issue is that bigots rely on the bible to justify their hatred. So if you rely on the bible as the source of your opinion, you are unfairly lumped in with the actual bigots.

  6. I have been meaning to re-read his comments. Are people inflammed because he said it leads to bestiality? Like if he stopped before saying it, would they not be up in arms?

    I will say the Same-sex Contigent has a LOT of power…and I am not mad at them for using it. I think people should be able to speak as long as its free of hate speech…I think we sometimes mix free speech with hate speech 😦 I saw someone who used an example of what the pope says about homosexuality as speaking his opinion but not being hateful of mean.

    • I wondered that same thing about his homosexuality leads to be.stiality comment. Like, if he’d stopped just short of that, would it have been deemed okay by the powers that be? I have a tendency to think it would’ve been because apparently they are quite open about their Christian beliefs on the show. So I can’t imagine him saying something that lines up with the Bible being and issue for the television network/sponsors. But, who knows?

      I’m okay with hate speech. Not okay in that I agree with whatever sentiment is being expressed, I just think you should be able to say whatever you want and equally free to deal with the consequences of such. People kill me saying his rights were violated because of his suspension. No, they weren’t. He said what he wanted to say. He does, however, have to deal with the repercussions.

  7. I don’t think that feeling how you do about homosexuality makes you a bigot. As you said, you can disagree without hating or being disciminatory.

    This PC world scares me a bit. I want to be able to say what I feel and know exactly how others around me feel without having to sugarcoat it or outright lie. Hate speech can be hurtful but I feel people should be able to say what they want. Preventing them from speaking their beliefs out loud does nothing to stop the systemic oppression of people.

  8. Free speech means you can say what you want and the government cannot prosecute or harm you because of it. A&E as a commercial entity did not infringe on those rights because it has no legal basis to do so, it made a business decision. The same way Hobby Lobby makes business decisions to not offer birth control in it’s health plans because of it’s “Christian” beliefs.

    If you want to say you believe homosexuality is wrong according to your faith fine. But don’t bring in bestiality and terrorism into it. Also don’t describe in detail why you think having sex with a woman is better than with a man, that just leads me to think you’ve thought about how homosexuals have sex a little too much.

    But, not only did he say demeaning things about homosexuality, but also about blacks. That got lost in some of the earlier hoopla. I’m glad A&E dropped Phil Robertson of Duck Dynasty for his homophobic remarks, let’s not forget his ignorant racist remarks either. For Phil from to perpetuate the “happy darkie” myth is ignorant & racist. What black person would sing their blues to him? Phil speaks of a time when blacks in the south wouldn’t even look a white person in the eye, much less share their pain.
    Hate is usually equal opportunity. For those who haven’t read what Phil Robertson of #DuckDynasty said about blacks – http://www.celebitchy.com/340160/duck_dynastys_phil_robertson_gave_one_of_the_most_offensive_interviews_ever_to_gq/

    • That’s where I think he crossed the line – he just went waaaay left with some of what he said!

      I am amazed at how many white people feel that way about the segregated south of their childhood. Our previous governor said something similar – he didn’t remember it being bad at all. Sir. You hail from what was one of the most violent counties in Mississippi during the Jim Crow era. Hush.

  9. I would consider myself believer in Christ although I don’t want to be labeled a christian but that’s another comment for another day.

    That being said, I think people are entitled to their opinions about things. An adverse opinion doesn’t make a person a bigot. Not even a little bit. I don’t think anything is WRONG with being homosexual. I’m one of those who does not think it’s a choice. I have an uncle who is gay and I truly believe with everything in me that he would not chose that life.

    The duck dude, well he is a bigot. Period.

    • I have several gay friends and relatives who I think wouldn’t have chosen homosexuality. But I also have several gay friends and relatives who I think have chosen homosexuality. I don’t pretend to know how it works. I know I did not choose heterosexuality, it’s just who I am. So there’s that.

      Thanks for weighing in!

  10. I’m late here, but I agree with your statements. I do think its a sin but I dont condone violence of any kind, against any person. We are being forced in this society to all think the same way. I take it as a form of bullying. Like if you dont have this particular widely held opinion, we are gonna shut you down until you conform. But it definitely doenst go both ways. Like you said, his comments about blacks (which I dont necessarily disagree with) were ignored. And had he come out bashing Jesus for some reason, he wouldntve have lost his job over that either.

Leave a Reply

