Home » Life In General » Greetings and Salutations!

Greetings and Salutations!

Happy New Year!

How were your holidays? Absolutely marvelous I hope!

We had a great couple of weeks off. Okay, so technically LG was the only one off. I worked most of the time. And by worked, I mean I showed up. I can neither confirm nor deny my productivity levels.

So, let’s talk resolutions. I know a lot of people scoff at the idea of resolutions, but I think they’re a great way to put out in the universe those things which you are hoping to accomplish over the next 365 days. Sometimes resolutions work, sometimes they don’t, but I’m certainly not going to knock them.

I did a vision board this year. A physical vision board. I went to H.obby L.obby, grabbed a french bulletin board and got to work. I bought LG one and she’ll do hers in the next few weeks. Last year I did a virtual one on Pinterest, but I never really looked at it and decided this year I’d better do something a little more concrete. On my vision board are: my Bible verse for the year, a travel quote, a quote about God, a piggy bank to represent my increased savings, an exercise motivator and a PhD visual. I may add a few more pictures, but that’s pretty much it. I hung it beneath my window and it is now the first thing I see when I roll over in the morning.

In addition to those things, I will be more deliberate in the choices I make regarding my health and I will read at least 50 books (including the Bible).

My overarching goal for this year is to be more conscious of the words that come out of my mouth and the thoughts that I have – to make them more loving, kinder, positive, uplifting. No wonder then that my verse for the year is Psalm 19:14.

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength and my redeemer.”

What are your plans for the year? Have you written them down? Will you?

20140106-082002.jpg

This is my vision board. I’m going to add a few things to “pretty it up,” but these are my areas of concentration for the year.

6 thoughts on “Greetings and Salutations!

  1. I always read but never comment which leads to one of my resolutions this year…to start commenting on blogs more. Also, I think I really should make a vision board as well. I’m a very visual person and seeing something like that every day will likely make me more accountable. I already write to-do lists on my mirror daily with a dry erase marker. I’ve found that it helps me actually complete stuff. Anyway, happy new year and hello!

  2. I don’t get why people put resolutions down either. We resolve to do things all hte time…January is just when you really take a look at the big picture. Also, why do they care that people make resolutions? It doesn’t affect them!

    Anyway…love your french board! You should have made it! 🙂 I have all the stuff EXCEPT a board for my vision board. I may pick up one of those because its so pretty.

  3. Happy New Year!
    I’m working on moving without fear or hesitation. My goals this year are seriously saving money, committed service to my organization, continued exercise and green eating, and reading 30+ books again. I’m also committed to working on a more polished professional attitude for my Private sector position. I’ve been in the Public sector my entire career and my professional behavior can be rather combative at times.

    We had a Vision Board party last January and we should have a 2013 check in soon. My 2013 vision board is still relevant, even though I achieved most of the goals, so I probably won’t do one for 2014. I find having a visible reminder of my goals really did work well.

Leave a Reply

