Gift cards – yea or nay?

gift-card.jpg 

I don’t like to shop.  That doesn’t mean I don’t love my peeps, I do.  Really.  I just get no joy from roaming from store to store in search of the perfect whatever.  And lest you think I’m being selfish, I don’t like to shop for anyone – myself included.

So, this year, I think that every grown person on my list will be presented with a gift card – either Visa or Amex – so that they can buy something they really want.  (Well, with the amount we’ll be giving it’ll be more like a contribution toward something they really want!)

I read somewhere that the etiquette folks say this is a no-no.  But, since none of them have stopped by to pick up my “to buy for” list, I think I’m taking the easy way out this year.

I’ll troll the stores for the kiddies though.  So if you’re in or around Jackson and you see an angry looking black woman with dreadlocks muttering to herself in a toy store or on the toy aisle of a store, please, come up and introduce yourself – it’ll be me!