My Heart Is Full

1.  The Personhood Amendment did not pass! As a rape survivor, as a woman, as a mother to a girl-child I am over the moon with joy that our choices as it relates to our reproductive rights are still intact in the state of Mississippi.  Everyone is entitled to their own opinions on this controversial movement – I’m just ecstatic that more people agreed with me than the opposing side last night!  Hell, I might start taking birth control pills just because I can!!!

2.  Heavy D died yesterday.  I remember when people my parents grew up listening to would die and how shocked and distraught they’d seem.  I never thought it was that big a deal – these were “old” people after all.  Well, now someone that I grew up listening to and admiring is gone at the age of 44 and I know exactly how they felt.  I’ve always like Heavy’s music – fun, positive joints that got and kept you on the dance floor.  I loved watching him on TV – particularly on Living Single, and I appreciated his guest appearances on other artists’ songs – especially Janet Jackson’s “Alright!” Diddly diddly dee indeed.  RIP.