Sorry Ladies, He’s Taken…

Saturday evening – after spending 4 hours in the woods with 115 giggling screaming 1st and 2nd graders at a Girl Scout Princess Tea Party – I went to visit a friend and her new baby.  I was gone for about 4 hours.

When I came back I was greeted with:

I still don't like eggs. o_O

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And:

Old school - stacked TVs!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s a helluva man who secures both a big arse tv AND a flat of brown eggs in the time it takes to coo over a cute newborn baby.  I am truly living the life!

Also, here’s the recipe for the cheesy corn puffs I made last night.  I got the recipe from Food Network Magazine. I didn’t like them.  They were way too egg-y tasting for me.  Smoochy liked them, Lovegirl did not.  I forgot to take a picture of my finished product – though I will say that mine were very flat and not all puffed up and pretty like the ones in the magazine.  My oven is having temperature issues, and while I do think that affected the look of the puffs, I don’t think it had anything to do with the overwhelming egg flavor with which I was assaulted!!!  Yes, I realize this is not a glowing endorsement for the cheese puffs.  You may like them….

Here’s what they looked like all purty and glossed up for the magazine:

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 cup creamed corn
4 T unsalted butter
1 t salt
1 3/4 C all-purpose flour
3 large eggs
1/2 C shredded pepper jack cheese + extra
1 T chopped fresh chives (didn’t use these ’cause I didn’t have any)

1. Preheat oven to 400. Line 2 baking sheets (I used one) with parchment paper.

2.  Bring the corn, butter, and salt to a simmer in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Reduce heat to low. Add the flour and stir with a wooden spoon until the mixture is smooth and begins to pull away from the sides of the pan, about 2 minutes. (Um, yeah, as soon as I added the flour there was no stirring or pulling. The dough lumped up. I gave it a few stirs and called it quits.)

3.  Scrape the dough into a bowl, let cool slightly.  Add the eggs, one at a time, stirring well after each addition.  Stir in the cheese and chives.  Chill the dough 15 minutes.

4.  Scoop tablespoon-size mounds of dough onto the prepared baking sheets, about 2 inches apart.  Sprinkle with more cheese.  Transfer to the oven and bake until golden brown and puffy, 20 to 25 minutes.  Serve warm.

(I got about 12 puffs from this recipe – the recipe says it yields 24???)