Sunrise musings

It is Sunday.  I’ve been awake since 4:30, out of bed since 5.

I am abundantly blessed.

I woke up chilly and went over to the thermostat and crunk the heat up a few notches.  Millions of people don’t have that option and have to suffer through extreme temperatures every day.

My fast starts today.  Instead of complaining about what I won’t be consuming for the next 21 days, I concentrated on the variety of foods I had available to me in my refrigerator, cabinets and pantry.  They are are full and the contents ready to be utilized.  I don’t have to forage or scrounge for anything.  If I don’t have what I “feel” like eating, I am able to purchase what I want.

I looked at my sleeping child.  She has never known hunger, extreme pain or wanted for the necessities of life.  She is healthy, happy and whole.  I am reminded of what a blessing this is every time I see a sick child in the halls of the hospital.  But for the grace of God…

I looked at my sleeping husband.  He is a blessing to Lovegirl and I.  He works hard to take care of us.  He is loving and kind.  I’ve never had to wonder if he’s coming home to us.  He makes sure that I take some time out for myself every weekend.  He gets me.

I walked around our home.  It is not a mansion, it won’t win any decor awards.  Or cleanliness awards for that matter.  But it is ours.  And we are blessed to have it.  My study is filled with pictures of people who love me and that I love.  So many people don’t have that.

When I get ready to go to church in a few hours, I’ll get in my raggedy (paid for!!) truck and zip on over to church.  I am blessed to live in a country where I can worship my God without fear of persecution.  Other people in this country will worship as they see fit and some will not worship at all.  Freedom is a marvelous thing.

This week I am going to concentrate on being thankful for what I have.  To see the blessings that surround me on a daily basis.  To banish the spirit of ungratefulness.

The Lord is good to all and His tender mercies are over all His works.

Psalm 145:9