Tasty Goodness

Tonight for dinner?  I had no clue.  We’ve eaten all the beans and rice.  I finished off the veggie bowl I attempted on Sunday, and the spaghetti has been long gone.  What to do?

Well, I whipped up some tasty goodness which I shall share with you.  Of course, I didn’t measure, but this is soooo good.

I cut up two portabella mushroom caps and sauteed them in butter.  Then  I tossed in some cut up sun dried tomatoes and left over broccoli.  Added a little black pepper and some parsley flakes.  Poured in enough vegetable broth to make a sauce and let it simmer for a while.  Poured the whole concoction over some mini bow tie pasta.  So, so good!  I imagine it’ll be just as tasty over brown rice and plan on testing that theory this weekend.

I Love Music…

but musicals?  Not so much. 

I have to know that a movie or production is a musical so I can get my mind right to (possibly) enjoy it.  I don’t really know why this is, because I’m a big music fan.  But to hear singing for the duration of a 2 or 3 hour production?  Yeah, I need  prior warning, otherwise I will have a straight attitude the whole time.  Yep, the whole time.

The movie D.reamgirls?  Yeah, I was mad.  Yes, I knew it was a movie based on a musical, but I still wasn’t prepared for all that music.  Pass.

M.ama M.ia.  Oh lawd!  I didn’t know it was a musical….Hated it.  I couldn’t even watch the whole thing. Ditto G.rease and L.ittle Shop of H.orrors.

A.ida.   I knew it was a musical, so I was prepared.  I think I was just so glad to see something cultural come through Jackson that I left the attitude at home.

The Wiz?  Best! Musical! Ever!

C.ats is coming to Jackson in the next few weeks.  I’ve always (kinda) wanted to see it just because of its longevity and popularity.  But when I think about the fact that is is 1) a musical and 2) a musical with singing cats I’m thinking I’ll do the right thing and skip it.

I know, you’re wondering why Nerd Girl is ranting about musicals on a random Thursday morning.  Well, yesterday Monnie posted about “P.assing Strange” airing on PBS last night.  It is a S.pike L.ee joint, so I figured I’d check it out.  You already know what I didn’t when I tuned in….it was a musical!  Uh, uh.  Maybe next time.

How do you feel about musicals?  Love ’em or leave ’em alone?  Do you have a favorite?