Home » Blogroll » Meme’ing on Monday

Meme’ing on Monday

So, Los Angelista has tagged me for the random and weird meme.  I’m going to share 7 random and weird things about myself and then tag 7 more folks to do the same.  Drum roll please . . . .

  • I enjoy V8.  But only when flying.  I don’t know what that’s all about, but the only time I drink V8 is when I’m on an airplane.  I think to myself “hmm, this is mighty tasty, I should buy some when I get home.”  But I never do.
  • I used to be fascinated by the innards of rocks.  Yep, you read right – rocks.  When I was about 8 or so, I was convinced that the inside of rocks had healing powers. The more veins and coloration running through a rock, the better.  I would pound the rocks into powder and feed the powder to my younger brother thinking it would cure his asthma.  It did not.
  • My date for the Sadie Hawkin’s dance (12th grade) was very obviously gay. Except for to me.  I guess I was really naive.  I had no clue he was gay – not that it mattered – and thought he’d be great fun to go with (he was).  I couldn’t figure out for the life of me why my parents just smiled and told me I had no curfew that night!  Looking back on the pictures, he with his texturized orange hair styled into a kiss curl on his forehead, wearing a blouse, a woman’s sweater and ballet flats and I with a similar look, I’m not sure how I missed that one.  Thank you padres for a most sheltered childhood!
  • I will not read a book twice.  Yet, I keep most of my books.  I like the idea of a library in our home, so I have most of the books I’ve bought in the last 20 years or so.  If I think a book is a real dud, I’ll give it away, but most of them are lovingly arranged on one of three shelves.  Gathering dust.
  • I’m not all that enamored of roses.  They’re okay, but I think there are so many flowers that are much prettier – lillies, gerber daisies, and gardenias to name a few.
  • I had no idea how much Doon*ey and Bour*ke (sp?) purses cost until earlier this summer.  I buy my purses at Marshall’s/Ross/TJ Maxx – I don’t care if they’re “last season’s” or whatever.  I almost fell out when I was browsing with a friend and she wanted to look at purses.  Do you know those things are like $200 for the itty bitty versions??!?  Is it just me? 
  • I love Chai.  I could go broke consuming the stuff.  Such tasty warm goodness – and the weather is finally cooling off enough for me to justify my frequent trips to the coffee hut . . . .
*Tried to post this yesterday – home computer was trippin’ – so here’s my Monday post.  On Tuesday.

Oops!  I forgot to tag 7 folks – African American Dad, Ebony Mommy, Fashionista, Hot Mama, Living out Loud, TKW, Yummy 411, you’re it!

6 thoughts on “Meme’ing on Monday

  1. Girl, the more I read your stuff, the more I think we must have been related in some past life. I, too, can’t read a book more than once, and I can’t give books away. I can loan them out, but I want it back. Also, I’m not a big fan of roses, but those Gerber daises put a smile on my face every time. Be well.

  2. Oh!!! I was tagged!!!!

    Now I’m so glad you said that about roses. I actually dislike them greatly as they remind me of high school puppy love. The only kinds I can tolerate at yellow (Texas) and white.

    P.S. The D&B phenomenon is indeed interesting…I like me some designer purses but only when they are on clearance…at Marshall’s. Pesonally I’m not that big of a fan of D&B mostly b/c they insist on splashing their logo all over the dang things.

  3. Loved reading your seven. Amen on the chai. I haven’ t had one all week and I’m fiending!

    And how, er, sweet for you to try to find a cure for your brother. LOL! You were sort of on the right track, realizing that alternative medicines can help people.

    I do not get the pricey bag thing either. I can’t stand things with labels on them but some of the ones without a labels are hot! Just not worth that much moolah. But we sure are convinced that they are, aren’t we?!

  4. Your random 7 cracked me up, especially #3. Come on, the ballet flats?! Now, you may have been onto something with #2 (smile). Okay I don’t know about the cure for asthma part, but you know, I’m just saying (LOL) . . . Also, I’m with you on those D & B bags, but that doesn’t stop me from wanting one.

  5. I’ve never had a V8 and probably never will. Not on a bus, not on a train, not in a car or on a plane.
    I only read black classics like “The Souls of Black Folk” more than once. Other than that there are simply too many things to read to waste time.
    Chai is one flavor that I cannot get into. Chai lattes should be banned.

    OK, I have to get to work on my list and stop criticizing yours!

Leave a comment